Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books of 2017

This week’s TTT, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is about our favourite books of the year so far. I’m going by what I’ve read this year as opposed to sticking solely to books published in 2017 (although most of these were). They’re not in order because that’s just too hard. Picking just 10 books from everything I’ve read this year was tricky enough!

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman
I adored this book, its central character, the way it surprised me; you can read my review here. I’ve seen a lot of talk about it on Twitter too which makes me very happy.

Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson
This completely astonishing YA book has stayed in my brain all year; teen Mary and her messed-up story of being jailed for the murder of a baby is unlikely to leave me any time soon. Here’s my review.

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls by Elena Favilli
I am in love with this beautiful book of inspirational women, and very happy to be reading it with my daughter for a second time.

The Lonely Hearts Hotel by Heather O’Neill
I remain horrified that this didn’t make the Baileys shortlist. It’s a devastatingly gorgeous, sometimes traumatising story of two orphans and a circus, and that description in no way does it justice.

Augustown by Kei Miller
A really striking depiction of a small town in Jamaica, showing poverty, racism and family divisions. I really recommend this book.

The March trilogy by John Lewis
This set of graphic novels depicts the Civil Rights Movement, from the perspective of longtime Congressman John Lewis, who played a leading role in the fight for equality. Everything about these books is outstanding; the art, the storytelling style and the way in which the facts are presented.

The Sport of Kings by C.E. Morgan
Hard to get into, but ultimately a very absorbing and epic story of horse-racing, prejudice and families. I still feel like this should have won the Baileys prize.

Nobody Told Me: Poetry and Parenthood by Hollie McNish
Excellent collection of poetry and prose, based around McNish’s experiences of pregnancy and motherhood. It’s all so relatable and real; I wish I’d had this when I was going through the early days of parenthood.

Here I Stand, edited by Amnesty International
This is a sometimes disturbing but always compelling collection of short stories based around human rights. I’ll be using it at school next year in conjunction with Amnesty’s excellent lesson resources.

Exit West by Mohsin Hamid
A superb mix of magical realism and topical coverage of the refugee crisis, this really grabbed my attention and pulled on my heartstrings. It’s a gorgeous book.

Have you read any of these books? Or are you tempted? Please link me to your lists in the comments. It’s not like I’ve already got a zillion books to read…

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books of 2017

  1. everythingalyce says:

    I really want to read Rebel Girls, but I haven’t had a chance to get hold of a copy yet. It’s such a simple concept that it’s hard to believe it hasn’t been done before! I’m also excited to read Eleanor Oliphant – I’ve heard such amazing things about it. Looks like you’ve had a great reading year so far!

    Like

  2. Ellie Warren says:

    I want to read Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine and Exit West. I started reading the March trilogy this year too but I didn’t include it in my list because it kinda feels like something you need to read all three parts of.

    Like

  3. the (book) supplier says:

    Allegedly and Exit West are on my TBR. The cover to Eleanor Oliphant looks vaguely familiar. Like matchstick house on a blue background. I can’t place it though. Happy reading!

    eli @ the (book) supplier
    My TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

