Top Ten Tuesday: The Things That Will Instantly Make Me Want to Read a Book

This week’s TTT, hosted as always by The Broke and the Bookish, is about the factors which make us immediately want a book. I found this quite tricky (hence the fact that there are only 9); while I have particular favourite genres and authors whose work I look out for, there aren’t that many specific details that make me want a book. So here are my nine:

Space
My obsession with books set in space continues. If I find a book with an off-Earth location, I will immediately want it.

Published by Image
Since starting to read graphic novels last year, I have irresponsibly bought about a million of them, and a very large number of those are published by Image. I quickly lost interest in the conventional superhero narratives in mainstream comic stories, but I love nearly all of what I’ve read from Image’s back catalogue.

The Spanish Civil War
Have I mentioned my thing about the Spanish Civil War recently? I’ll read anything about it. Even 1000 page long non-fiction epics.

Cover comment by Margaret Atwood
I read Naomi Alderman’s The Power largely because Atwood was quoted on the cover. This logic will apply to pretty much anything. Oh, Maggie A likes this particular brand of felt tip/chocolate biscuit/deodorant? Give me 10.

Anything vaguely feminist
Fiction or non-fiction, I am all in for books about gender politics. This particularly applies to children’s books; my daughter is being politicised before she turns five.

Price under £5
If it’s so cheap, I’m basically wasting money by not buying it, right?

Africa
It is now my lifetime’s work to read novels set in every African country (which is actually quite tricky because, in some cases, there’s nothing that’s been translated into English).

A Baileys Prize nomination
I’m well on the way to reading everything that was longlisted this year and it has led me to some brilliant books. I also enjoy being able to lecture people from a position of knowledge, so this project is very worthwhile and not at all annoying for them.

A Brontë connection
I will basically read anything to do with the Brontë sisters. Their books, fiction books about them, non-fiction books about them: the lot.

What are the things that make you greedily reach for a new book? Do you share any of my weird obsessions? Let me know in the comments.

 

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: The Things That Will Instantly Make Me Want to Read a Book

  1. vendija723 says:

    Wow, what a fascinating list you have. When I think Spanish Civil War, I think Hemingway and As I Walked Out one Midsummer Morning. Feminist books and cheap books are favorites of mine as well!

    Like

  2. Laila@BigReadingLife says:

    Those are really fun reasons. I didn’t do this TTT (I haven’t been on WordPress all week) but now that I’m thinking about it, I’m having a hard time coming up with my own must-read prompts. I can see why this was tricky.

    Like

Leave a Reply

