Top Ten Tuesday: Weird Reads

This week’s TTT, hosted as always by The Broke and The Bookish, is all about unique books. I enjoy a weird read, and here are ten of my favourites.

The Bees by Laline Paul
When I picked this up, I thought, for some reason, that the bees of the title were a metaphor for a dystopian society run like a beehive. This is actually a great idea for a book, but, oddly, isn’t what The Bees is about. It’s actually about bees. From the PoV of a bee. It’s really good.

Memoirs of a Porcupine by Alain Mabanckou
Have I gone on about this book enough yet? Another weird PoV, this one is told from the perspective of a mentally warped porcupine. Mabanckou is a genius, by the way.

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley
This book messed with my head on many levels, the most significant of which being that the whole plot centres on someone swallowing a feather and finding out she’s an alien. Here’s a proper review.

Homesick for Another World by Ottessa Moshfegh
Nobody else writes like Ottessa Moshfegh. Her willingness to make her characters just deeply gross is quite a strange thing to compliment, but her writing is definitely unique.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Obviously, this is a series, so to call the first book ‘unique’ is a bit misleading, but I’ve never found anything that reads like Douglas Adams. The first book, in particular, is a complete delight in its randomness and silliness. The closest thing I’ve read is Becky Chambers’ excellent The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet.

I Can Only Draw Worms by Will Mabbitt
This is a children’s picture book and it’s completely hilarious. My daughter and I picked it up on a whim from the library and taking it back is going to be an emotional experience.

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
I fell hard for Nimona and its strange combination of modern sensibilities and tech with a medieval-looking setting. It’s hilarious and unique.

The Sundial by Shirley Jackson
I could have put any of Jackson’s novels here, but The Sundial is the one I read most recently, so it’s the one I’m going with. A woman sees the ghost of her dead father and claims he’s told her the world’s going to end and only their enormous home is safe. Everybody in it is completely bonkers.

The Goddess Chronicle by Natsuo Kirino
This started in a completely normal way, then the main character got killed by her secret boyfriend and turned into a wasp. No, I don’t know either.

Binti and Binti: Home by Nnedi Okorafor
Shall I mention these books for the millionth time? I’ve never read anything like them. And that was before Binti ended up with tentacles coming out of her head.

Have you read any of these? Hit me up with your unique and weird book lists in the comments.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Weird Reads

  1. Elle says:

    Hah, I like your summary of The Goddess Chronicle (“no, I don’t know, either”). Okorafor is on my TBR list with The Book of Phoenix; I don’t have a copy of Binti yet but the overwhelming positive response to it is why I started looking at Okorafor’s work in the first place.

    Like

  2. curlygeek04 says:

    I thought about The Bees, that is definitely a unique pick. And I can see where anything of Shirley Jackson could make this list. Hitchhiker’s Guide is perfect because really, how much funny science fiction was out there when that was published?

    Like

Leave a Reply

