Top Ten Tuesday: Spring TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is back! Hurrah, and thanks to The Broke and The Bookish, as always, for hosting it. This week’s topic is an easy one: Books on my Spring TBR. I say “easy,” but obviously trying to list only 10 books I’m planning to read in the next 3 months is actually a horrific task. But never mind.

The Lights of Pointe-Noire by Alain Mabanckou
I’ve read two of Mabanckou’s books this year and really enjoyed them, so I’m looking forward to getting started with this one. I think it’s a non-fiction account of his return to the Congo after living in France for many years.

The Old Man and The Medal by Ferdinand Oyono
I’m on a mission to read novels set in or by authors from all the countries of Africa; Oyono is from Cameroon and this book is about colonialism and its effects.

The Sport of Kings by C.E. Morgan
The Baileys Prize longlist came out last week and I’ve only read 5 of the books on it, so I’ll be reading this as part of my mission to rectify this. It sounds amazing, actually; it takes place in Kentucky and sounds like an epic family saga with horses.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
This has been getting so much hype but doesn’t actually come out in the UK till the start of April. I’m really excited to finally read it.

A Book for Her by Bridget Christie
I saw this on a list of suggested reading for International Women’s Day and I do love a feminist-hued memoir/rant.

Goodbye, Vitamin by Rachel Khong
Another book I’ve been looking forward to for ages and I actually have an advance copy – woohoo! It’s about a young woman who returns home to care for her ill father and finds that things are even worse than she thought.

The Impossible Fortress by Jason Rekulak
This is a coming-of-age  novel about first love and a heist, set in 1987. It looks really cool.

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
I read Daughter of Smoke and Bone a few months ago and am looking forward to cracking on with Taylor’s new book before returning for the rest of that series. I’ve got an e-ARC of this but the physical copy looks so beautiful, I may have to buy a copy too.

Little Deaths by Emma Flint
Another Baileys Prize longlistee, this sounds pretty harrowing; it’s about the murder of two children and the police investigation into their mother.

The Lonely Hearts Hotel by Heather O’Neill
I read O’Neill’s The Girl Who Was Saturday Night last year and loved it, so I’m looking forward to reading this, another book longlisted for the Baileys Prize.

Are you reading any of these books? Or have you already? Please let me know in the comments.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Spring TBR

  1. Dawnie says:

    Highly recommend The Hate U Give as well, even if i am the millionth person doing it. Its so realistic and heartbreakingly honest which makes it an excellent read if very hard hitting as well, but so worth the read!

    And Little Deaths is also a nice read even if i found a bit disappointing in the POV the author choose, but i do hope you will enjoy it much more than i did 🙂

    Fantastic list and i hope you get to and love them all 🙂

    http://booksbeautifylife.blogspot.de/2017/03/top-10-tuesday-books-i-have-to-read-in.html

    Like

  2. curlygeek04 says:

    You’ve got a lot of the Baileys longlist on your TBR. I know very little about most of the books but I had a great time reading from the longlist last year. I look forward to hearing what you like. I really want to read The Hate U Give.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

