Top Ten Tuesday: Exciting 2017 Releases

This week’s TTT is about the new books we’re excited about in the first few months of 2017 (2017! How is it 2017?). This is what I’ll be eagerly pre-ordering in the next few months. I am upset by how many of them are sequels, given my inability to remember crucial plot details.

Triptych: Three Studies of Manic Street Preachers’ The Holy Bible by Larissa Wodtke
(published 16th February)
The Manics are one of my favourite bands, and there’s a surprisingly small amount of books written about them, so I’m looking forward to reading this one, even if The Holy Bible is essentially a really terrifying album which scared me a lot when I was 13.

The Book of Etta by Meg Elison
(published 21st February)
This is the sequel to The Book of the Unnamed Midwife (review here), which I read earlier this year. Elison’s post-apolcalyptic world is both creepy and compelling, and I’m keen to see what happens next.

Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton
(published 2nd February)
Another sequel; this is the follow-up to the excellent Rebel of the Sands, which I read at the start of this year and loved. I might even re-read it before Traitor appears in my eager paws.

Swimming Lessons by Claire Fuller
(published 26th January)
I really enjoyed Fuller’s Our Endless Numbered Days, as have the many people I’ve recommended it to. I’ve started Swimming Lessons and, plotwise, it’s quite different, but Fuller’s writing remains wonderful.

Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken
(published 12th January)
I really, really enjoyed Passenger and all its globetrotting, time traveling craziness, so I’m looking forward to reading this follow-up.

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab
(published 21st February)
This one is the last in the Shades of Magic trilogy, and I can’t wait to read it, whilst at the same time feeling very sad that it’s the last time we’ll see Kell and Lila. I love these books, and Schwab’s work in general; she is brilliant.

Mischling by Affinity Konar
(published 2nd February)
I’ve got an e-ARC of this, which pleases me very much as I’ve been looking forward to it for so long – I think it might already be out in the USA but doesn’t hit the bookshop shelves till February here. It’s about twins being used in experiments at Auschwitz and what happens beyond. It sounds fascinating.

Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo
(published 2nd March)
I’m reading an ARC of this at the moment and it’s completely excellent. Comparisons to Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie are inevitable – it’s set in Nigeria and the writing style is quite similar – but, frankly, if I wrote a book and people compared it to Adichie, I’d think that was the best compliment ever.

Silver Stars by Michael Grant
(published 9th February)
Yet another sequel, this time to the brilliant Front Lines, Grant’s alternate history in which teenage girls fight in World War II. I’m looking forward to reacquainting myself with the superb cast of young women who featured in the first book.

King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard
(published 9th February)
I’m a bit torn with this one, because I haven’t been the biggest fan of Red Queen or Glass Sword, but am intrigued to know what happens to Mare after the cliffhanger of the second book. So I’ll probably have to pick this up (although maybe not in February, as it seems it’s coming out in hardback first and they represent too great a risk to my face if I fall asleep while reading).

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Exciting 2017 Releases

Leave a Reply

