Top Ten Tuesday: Recent Additions to My TBR

This week’s TTT, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, is about the books we’ve recently added to our TBRs. I literally cannot stop myself from browsing Amazon/going to Waterstones/requesting books from the library, so my TBR is in a state of perpetual growth. It’s basically scary.

White is for Witching by Helen Oyeyemi
This was meant to be a Halloween read, but my library request took a while so I’ll be reading it in November. It involves a girl eating chalk and sounds creepy.

The World Without Us by Mireille Juchau
I found this while trawling through the Not the Booker list, compiled by The Guardian. I don’t like to read very detailed synopsises (is that a word?) but the key points I remember from this one are that a girl has stopped speaking and her mum goes wandering about with an empty pram. Or something.

The Association of Small Bombs by Karan Mahajan
My mission to read my way around the world continues with this, which is set in India and is about politics, terrorism and family tragedy.

The Bone Sparrow by Zana Fraillon
I’ve had my eye on this YA book about a child refugee for a while. I anticipate provoking my thoughts and probably making me cry.

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria
This is set in the 19th century (yay) in Boston (also yay) and is a fantasy which addresses ideas about race. It sounds excellent.

Jane Austen: The Secret Radical by Helena Kelly
I love Austen, obviously, and I’m intrigued by the idea of this non-fiction book, which addresses the more political subtexts of her work. This is a very neglected area. I can’t wait to read this and annoy people by telling them all the things I’ve learned from it.

The Mothers by Brit Bennett
Lots of people are talking about this at the moment; set in a black community in Southern California and focusing on a young woman’s pregnancy at the outset, it sounds really interesting. Also, it’s short. Hurrah.

The Blazing Star by Imani Josey
I’ve just been approved to read this on Netgalley. It involves time traveling to ancient Egypt. Yes please.

Let Them Eat Chaos by Kate Tempest
I have been looking forward to Tempest’s new poetry since reading Brand New Ancients and Hold Your Own this year. I have a feeling this is probably brilliant.

Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life by Ruth Franklin
Having read The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle recently, I’m excited to read this biography of Jackson.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Recent Additions to My TBR

  1. Holly says:

    The Jane Austen book sounds like something I would love! I think books that take a closer look at well known authors from different and new perspectives are fascinating. I’ll have to look into it soon. Great list! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

