Top Ten Tuesday: My Fantasy Book Club

This week’s TTT, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, is about book club recommendations. I am not in a book club (unless you count the secret one at school in which I just bang on about Wolf by Wolf every week) but I am the go-to person for several book-club-attending friends when they need to choose the book.

I’ve decided to choose the ten books I’d pick for a book club which deferred to me in all matters and allowed me carte blanche when it came to picking titles. These are the books my fantasy book club would read.

Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller
I think this would be an excellent book club pick; it’s an easy read but beautifully written , incorporating fairy tale elements alongside creepy child abduction. I reviewed it here.

Close Range by Annie Proulx
I love Annie Proulx, particularly the trilogy of Wyoming stories. It’s an area I’d love to visit, which is in no small part thanks to Proulx. This collection includes Brokeback Mountain, alongside lots of other excellent stories.

We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver
I really need to talk about Kevin, okay? One of my students is writing about this for coursework and I have constantly distracted her from writing her essay by making her talk to me about the book. Professional, yes?

I Love Dick by Chris Krauss
I would pick this for a book club for 2 reasons. Firstly, I would find it funny to make people say the title. Secondly, I feel like I didn’t really get this so I’d like the opportunity to discuss it and see if anyone can give me a reason to reconsider it.

The Basic Eight by Daniel Handler
I am a bit obsessed with this book. I can’t believe it isn’t more widely known, particularly as Handler is better known as Lemony Snickett. I think I need to read it again very soon.

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell
This has been on my shelf for over a year, having been purchased purely because of its beautiful cover. I read the first 150 pages but gave up; I really want to get back to it and I feel like my imaginary book club would be the perfect motivation to actually finish it.

Invisible Monsters by Chuck Palaniuk
I think Palahniuk has lost it a bit in recent years, but, prior to this, he wrote some fantastic and disturbing books. Invisible Monsters was the first one I read and, consequently, has a special place in my heart. I’d love to have a big discussion about it.

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood
As regular visitors to my blog may have noticed, I am obsessed with Atwood and, specifically, The Handmaid’s Tale. I’ve talked about Oryx and Crake a lot less and my imaginary book club would be a helpful way for me to make people read it so we could eat cake and fangirl over Atwood.

All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews
I loved this book about one sister trying to save another from depression. It was devastating but also darkly funny, and I think it’d be a great book club pick.

What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne
I love the Spinster Club trilogy (review here) and this book would provoke some excellent discussion. Obviously, my fantasy book club would be staunchly feminist, so all my imaginary friends would love this as much as I do.

I feel like this will be a good week for picking up recommendations. Leave me your links in the comments so I can steal your ideas for future reading.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Fantasy Book Club

Leave a Reply

