Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Heroines

This week’s TTT is a rewind week, so I’ve scrolled through The Broke and The Bookish for past topics and decided to think about my favourite heroines.

Bathsheba Everdene from Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy
How many times do I need to bang on about this book? I love Bathsheba; she’s a total feminist, ages before feminism was even a thing, with her lack of interest in marriage and refusal to let a man boss her around. Even when she does marry, she does it because she just feels like it. She rules.

Willowdean from Dumplin‘ by Julie Murphy
Will is fat and basically gives no fucks whether people have a problem with that. Dumplin‘ is a book I want to cuddle so I might absorb some of its immense gloriousness.

Eponine from Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
Oh look, another book I mention approximately every seven seconds. Eponine is ace; she deals with her horrible family, sleeps in trees and ends up in a loving but revolutionary relationship with my other favourite from this book, Enjolras. Okay, so some of that actually only happens in my brain rather than in the actual book.

Mina Harker from Dracula by Bram Stoker
For the millionth time, I love Mina. She plays a classic feminine role in Dracula, by which I mean the men think all she can do is take notes but actually she survives vampire attacks, keeps an eye on everyone and manages not to go crazy despite doing all the work.

Becky Sharp from Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray
Becky Sharp might not be the nicest character in fiction but she is pretty much the best one; she’s got her eyes on the prize and, if she has to upset everyone to get that prize, she will do it anyway.

Amani from Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
This book is one of my favourite YA reads this year and Amani is a big part of that; she’s an excellent feminist role model, risking death to avoid marrying an old dude and then taking names through the whole book.

All the girls from Front Lines by Michael Grant
Rio, Frangie and Rainy (and Rio’s friend whose name I cannot currently remember) are all consummate badasses in their own ways; their different roles in WW2 in Grant’s alternate history novel are inspiring. I can’t wait for the next instalment.

Memory from The Book of Memory by Pettina Gappah
I only read this recently, so Memory is still in my thoughts; this is a completely brilliant novel which I reviewed here. She’s a superb narrator who seems to be unreliable at times, combining witty commentary with retelling the tragic events of her life.

Lila Bard from A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab
While reading these two books, I’ve felt a growing sense of sadness that Lila isn’t actually real which means she will never be my best friend. She’s so brave and funny and takes no crap from anyone. She gives me goals.

Patricia from All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders
I read this at the start of the year and remain slightly obsessed with it. Patricia is gloriously weird but manages to make something of her pariah status. I feel a strong urge to read this again. My review is here if you’re interested.

Who are your favourite heroines? Maybe they’re EXACTLY THE SAME AS MINE and we’re actually sharing a brain. I’m looking forward to seeing which random topics everyone picks this week, so please leave me a link in the comments.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Heroines

  1. Holly says:

    I really need to read Far from the Madding Crowd. The fact that the main character is a great feminist makes me want to read it even more! Would you recommend the latest movie adaptation as well?

    Like

    • Katy Goodwin-Bates says:

      Eustacia is great; I think Hardy really got how to write brilliant women and that’s one of the things that makes him so wonderful. I also like that Eustacia has a little chat with herself in which she uses the phrase “shake it off” 150 years before Taylor Swift thought of it.

      Like

  2. mphadventuregirl says:

    I am an Eponine fan. I discovered her through the musical and later would read the book of Les Misérables. I love her strength, loyalty, bravery, and how loving she despite her family background. She continues to show true love towards Marius even if he wouldn’t do the same for her. Marius is what makes her get through the day even though her love for him is unrequited

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cookiesnchem says:

    Willowdean is such a cool character. This is really beautiful! Éponine is such a powerful and complex character. I was thinking of doing an aerial silks performance to the song On My Own, because I love the pace and the tune of the song. If you could describe Éponine using three words, what would they be? 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

