Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Buy Right Now If I Had a Money Tree

This week’s TTT, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, is about which books we’d buy if someone presented us with a gift-card loaded with loads of money. Unfortunately, I think this is merely a creative exercise and nobody is actually going to give me such a thing. Sad times.

Obviously, if someone else was going to finance my book-buying, I’d get all the books I currently think are too expensive, so I’m not putting anything obvious on here because, in all honesty, I can afford to shell out £6 for Empire of Storms without a mystery benefactor.

  1. Tales of Two Cities: The Best and Worst of Times in Today’s New York edited by John Freeman
    This is a short story anthology which focuses on the wealth disparity in New York, where (according to the blurb) “the top one per cent earns more than a half million dollars per year while twenty-five thousand children are homeless.” It features stories by Zadie Smith and Junot Diaz and I’ve had my eye on it for ages.
  2. Tales for Little Rebels: A Collection of Radical Children’s Literature edited by Julia L. Mickenberg and Philip Nel
    Something else that’s been on my wish list for ages; this collection of stories, poems, comic strips and other texts encourages children to question the authority of those in power. While I don’t necessarily want my daughter to question my authority, I do want her to grow up challenging anything she seess as wrong, and I think this would be a good place to start.
  3. Good Morning Comrades by Ondjaki
    I found out about this thanks to this list on Book Riot; it’s about a group of twelve year old boys growing up during the Angolan Civil War. I’ve become really fascinated with African literature recently and this sounds brilliant.
  4. The Parachute Drop by Norbert Zongo
    Another choice from that Book Riot list, this is set in Burkina Faso (I think it’s safe to say I’ve never read a book with that setting) and is a caricature of a paranoid dictator; the author was imprisoned for three months because of this book and later murdered.
  5. Changes by Ama Ata Aidoo
    This crosses over between my interests in African novels and feminism; it’s about a woman who divorces her abusive husband and is set in Ghana.

  6. Damnificados by JJ Amaworo Wilson
    I found out about this thanks to my clever editor at Fourth and Sycamore, who wrote this review; the book is loosely based on the real-ilfe occupation of a half-completed skyscraper in Venezuela and it sounds cool.
  7. King Kong Theory by Virginie Despentes
    One review describes this as “a furious condemnation of the servility of enforced femininity” and that sentence alone makes me want to read it.
  8. The Outside Lands by Hannah Kohler
    This is set in California and Vietnam in 1968; I’ve not read much fiction focusing on that period, although I did read a couple of non-fiction books about Vietnam during my degree. I would very much like to get my hands on this.
  9. Out of Time by Miranda Sawyer
    I heard Miranda Sawyer talking about this handbook of the midlife crisis; it was a very funny and interesting interview which inspired me to read the book too.
  10. Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman
    I’ve been meaning to read this for so long but for some reason haven’t bought it yet, so, with this imaginary gift-card, I can finally do it. It’s a YA novel about schizophrenia, which I think Shusterman has based on his son, so it sounds fascinating in every way.
2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Buy Right Now If I Had a Money Tree

  1. Candid Cover says:

    There are so many titles here that are new to me! I am very intrigued about Challenger Deep. It sounds like quite an interesting concept. I hope that you get to own some these ones some day! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

