Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books of 2016 (so far)

This week’s TTT topic is Favourite 2016 Releases So Far (see The Broke and The Bookish for future topics). I have now read 141 books this year, a large number of which were new releases, so this is much trickier than it should be. I’m actually going to attempt to put these in order too, just to make my life more difficult.

10. This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab
I am officially obsessed with V.E. Schwab. I was looking forward to this tale of a fractured city and creepy monsters for ages and it completely lived up to my expectations, which isn’t usually the case. My review will be up later this week.

9. The Museum of You by Carys Bray
This is a really, really good read; it’s tragic enough to be affecting but, weirdly, is also very, very funny. I thoroughly recommend. Review here.

8. Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin
I read this last year, although it came out in 2016, and had forgotten how brilliant it is until I was searching for something new and exciting to teach to year 9 next year. I love everything about Wolf by Wolf and can’t wait for the sequel. Review here.

7. The Bricks that Built the Houses by Kate Tempest
This was a recent read, so it’s still very fresh in my mind. I loved Tempest’s style; although the story wasn’t the most original, it’s a brilliantly written book and I’m now looking forward to reading her poetry. Review here.

6. The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
Set in Tennessee: check. Characters with cool music taste: check. Deeply tragic story and dysfunctional families: check. I loved this book; if you haven’t read it, you really should. Review here.

5. The Madwoman Upstairs by Catherine Lowell
In amongst the ten billion Brontë-related books I’ve read recently, this stands out: it’s a very clever and also extremely funny story of a (fictitious) last descendant of the sisters and her battle with that legacy. Review here.

4. Dumplin‘ by Julie Murphy
I feel like I’ve been waiting for this book all my life. It’s entertaining, touching and really life-affirming. There are so many quotes from it that I want to write all over the walls of my house (but I’m not supposed to do that any more).

3. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab
More Schwab: I adore the world of this book and its predecessor, A Darker Shade of Magic. Schwab’s characters are brilliantly realised and everything about the book is completely compelling. The fact that I have till next year for the third book makes me want to break things.

2. The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock
This YA novel about teens growing up in Alaska is almost too lovely to actually talk about. I constantly fight the urge to force copies of it on everyone I know. Review here.

  1. All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders
    This book is a total joy; it’s wildly inventive and completely mad and I kind of want to marry it. You can find a slightly more coherent list of reasons for its brilliance here.

Throwing caution to the wind in my never-ending battle against my TBR shelf, I’d love links in the comments so I can check out some other TTTs this week.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books of 2016 (so far)

  1. meganm922 says:

    I’m really looking forward to Schwab’s new book and hoping it will be coming in my Owlcrate next month as it’s the only book releasing that fits the theme.

    I still have to read A Gathering of Shadows.

    Great picks!

    Like

  2. Milka Väinämö says:

    I yet have A Gathering to Shadows to read – I loved the first book in the series despite the fact that I rarely read fantasy, so I have high hopes for the second book as well 🙂
    I definitely need to add ALL THE BIRDS IN THE SKY to my TBR 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

