Top Ten Tuesday: Exciting Releases, July-December 2016

This week’s TTT, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, is about books we’re excited about in the second half of 2016. Once I had finished freaking out about being halfway through 2016, this is what I came up with:

Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman (October 13th)
I remain obsessed with Illuminae, so obviously I am extremely excited about this one. It is possible that this is the most excited I have ever been about a book. My husband, a non-reader who also loved Illuminae, has, I think, deliberately booked our holiday in October around the book’s release, so we can each buy a copy to read while we’re away.

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (27th September)
Another book which will be on about a million lists this week: I loved Six of Crows and I’m really looking forward to being immersed in this world again. I’ve also been nerdy enough to pre-order the Grisha trilogy boxset, so it is possible that by October I’ll have forgotten that it isn’t actually real.

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas (6th September)
Again, this is a predictable choice. I’ve had mixed feelings about the Throne of Glass series, but I liked Queen of Shadows so I’m keeping my fingers crossed for more Chaol and Aelin picking a name and sticking to it.

Barkskins by Annie Proulx (16th June)
This is kind of cheating because this actually just about comes out in the first half of the year, but I won’t buy it until it’s a bit cheaper, by which time it will be October or something. I love Annie Proulx’s books, especially the Wyoming stories; this sounds quite different to the rest of her writing (for one thing, it doesn’t appear to be set in Wyoming) so I’m looking forward to picking it up.

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold (20th September)
My love for Mosquitoland, Arnold’s previous novel, knows literally no bounds, so this is one of my most anticipated books ever. I’ve not seen much in the way of plot details, but Amazon informs me that this will be “a powerful and funny young adult novel that meditates on loss, love and disability” (actually, Amazon actually tells me that it “mediates” on these things, but I’m assuming that’s an unfortunate typo).

Set the Boy Free by Johnny Marr (3rd November)
Having discovered that this is coming out, I’m appalled that I have to wait until November to read it. I’m a huge fan of The Smiths and Marr’s solo work, and was put off reading Morrissey’s autobiography by the fact that it apparently only included about two pages about the band. So I’m hoping Johnny is a little more open about the making of some of my most favourite songs.

Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood (6th October)
This is part of the Hogarth series of Shakespeare retellings, with Atwood taking on The Tempest. I’ve not been a huge fan of the other books in this series, but Atwood on her worst day is better than pretty much everyone else on their best so I am confident that this will be awesome.

Swing Time by Zadie Smith (15th November)
I’m a big admirer of Smith’s novels so it is exciting to find that she’s got a new one coming out; this is set in north-west London and west Africa, following the lives of two aspiring dancers.

Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven (6th October)
All the Bright Places was one of my favourite books of last year, so I’m really looking forward to reading this and needing a lot of therapy afterwards.

Little Women by Jennifer Adams (1st November)
I have previously written of my immense love for the Babylit series; if you haven’t seen them, they’re board book primers, taking key ideas from classics and adding beautiful illustrations. We have the full set in our house; I could say this is all for my daughter’s benefit but I’d be lying.

What have we learned from this list? That I probably need to sell a kidney to finance my book-buying from September onwards.

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Exciting Releases, July-December 2016

  1. Allyson says:

    Haha, you’re right about Crooked Kingdom! It made a ridiculous amount of lists this week, including ours 🙂 Hagseed has made quite a few lists, too! I am definitely going to check out the Little Women board book! I don’t even have kids, so I can’t blame it on them :p

    My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

