Top Ten Tuesday: In Which I Demand Updates on the Lives of Fictional People

This week’s TTT theme is a thinker: Ten Childhood Characters You’d Love to Revisit as Adults. Thanks to The Broke and The Bookish for this one; I love topics like this which require some serious thought. This was really fun to figure out.

Matilda (from Matilda by Roald Dahl)matilda
As a lifelong bookworm, obviously there’s a special place in my heart for Matilda. I want to know what happens when she’s grown-up; I’m assuming English Literature at Cambridge, and then teaching, because she wants to help and inspire like Miss Honey did. Not that I’ve thought about this.

wild thingsMax (from Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak)
So, Max randomly goes to the place where the Wild Things are, bosses them around and then goes home to eat his supper. I’m putting money on Max being a psychopath in later life.

Lola (from the Charlie and Lola books by Lauren Childs)lola
Having read every Charlie and Lola book and watched every episode of every series, I consider myself an authority on these too freakishly blonde, middle class children. Here is my theory: Lola murdered their parents and Charlie indulges her because he’s scared she’s going to get him too.

Hareton and Catherine (from Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte)
In amongst all the complete lunatics of Wuthering Heights, these two are refreshingly nice and normal. I want to see them ten years down the line, living a sensible life with no shouting matches or climbing in each other’s graves.

Mim (from Mosquitoland by David Arnold)
I would like a book about Mim for every year of her life, because I love her. I’m not even sorry.

paddington.jpgPaddington Bear (from the Paddington Bear books by Michael Bond)
I was obsessed with Paddington as a child. Clearly, I choose to believe that he lives with the Brown family forever (especially having seen how amazing their house was in the film – I want to live there too) in the fashion of an eccentric but much-loved uncle.

Kristy Thomas (from The Babysitters Club books by Ann Martin)
When Kristy grows up, she’ll find that you can’t actually just boss people around and claim to have invented babysitting. I would like to witness her have a massive meltdown when this realisation hits.

Oliver Wood (from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling)
On this occasion, I feel it appropriate to break my self-imposed rule  about never talking about Harry Potter to ask WHAT HAPPENED TO OLIVER WOOD? Maybe there is an actual answer to this and a true fan is going to enlighten me in the comments. Is he captaining a highly successful quidditch team? I need to know.

Grace (from One by Sarah Crossan)one
I’m going to say this in the most un-spoilery way possible in case you’re one of the unfortunate and misguided souls not to have read this beautiful book. But I feel an urgent need for a catch up with Grace a few years down the line. I just NEED TO KNOW THINGS.

kevinKevin (from We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver)
I think I now mention this book approximately every 27 seconds but there are reasons and one of them is that it offers a kind of closure at the end, but also leaves a lot of questions unanswered. I think a sequel set when Kevin is older would be essential reading (although also horrifying and, hopefully, not containing any small pets).

 

Whose fictional life are you obsessed with? Feel free to link me to your TTT in the comments.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: In Which I Demand Updates on the Lives of Fictional People

  1. Bri says:

    I love to imagine Paddington being passed down to Brown family members and forever being a part of the family. MARY ANNE FOREVER. I’d love to see an adult Max with his own kids who get into all sorts of zany situations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

