Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Make You Laugh

This week’s TTT, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, is all about books to make you chuckle. Or maybe giggle. Or even chortle. Or, in my case, guffaw in such a way that people think you’re having some kind of cerebral episode.

In no particular order:

me and earlnarmocharlotte streetsimoncarry on.jpg

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
How is a book with “dying” in the title so hilarious? I don’t know the answer to this or, indeed, whether anyone else found this book as laugh-inducing as I did, but what I do know is that I injured myself in several ways with my hysteria when reading this. For more detail on these mishaps, see here.

The Chronicles of Narmo by Caitlin Moran
Caitlin Moran is my hero and I will read anything she writes, but this was the first and it was a real favourite of mine when I was a kid. The Narmo family are all completely mad and dysfunctional and made me very resentful of my normal parents who made me go to school and eat fruit.

Charlotte Street by Danny Wallace
Danny Wallace is just an extremely funny man and has a supreme ability to translate this into his writing. I read Charlotte Street a couple of years ago when my daughter was a baby; off we’d go for a walk so she could nap, off to sleep she’d go and then I’d keep waking her up with my snorts of hilarity.

Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
Alongside all this book’s other major attributes, it is very, very amusing. Especially the sock bit.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

My main source of amusement while reading this was the random pop culture references and sayings used as spells. Aside from that, the entirely context-appropriate swearing here also makes me smile.

demon roadhitchhikers.jpghungernorthangerundermajordomo

Demon Road by Derek Landy
Thanks to the character Glen, Demon Road is, at times, very funny. It’s not an entirely amusing book, but there are plenty of moments to make you laugh.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
The innate silliness of this book and the whole series is highly appealing. There are so many things in it that are just completely random (like the fish you put in your ear to act as a translator) that the whole thing is a joy to read. Also, Marvin. That is all.

Hunger Makes Me A Modern Girl by Carrie Brownstein
A slightly weird choice, perhaps, but Brownstein is very talented in the art of self-deprecation, which makes this a book that a) raises a chuckle and b) makes you want to be her friend.

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
I’d forgotten how witty this book is. I enjoy Austen’s subtle humour in all her novels, but I think Northanger Abbey is the most consciously funny, thanks to its gothic pastiche and witty exchanges.

Undermajordomo Minor by Patrick DeWitt
An extremely weird book, but one with plenty of darkΒ humour and nonsensical, Wildean conversations. The bizarre exchanges between the characters had me laughing in bemusement throughout. Weirdest sex scene I’ve ever read, just to put it out there.

I’d love to see what you’ve put in your list this week, so please link me to your TTT in the comments.

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Make You Laugh

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Demon Road made it to my list too! I thought that entire book was hysterically good. :’) I COULD NOT STOP LAUGHING. omg, all of Derek Landy’s books are that funny. And Me & Earl is super hilarious too. I actually remember having to stop reading I was laughing so hard. And THAT rarely happens. πŸ˜› Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Barb B (boxermommyreads) says:

    I have Me, Earl and the Dying Girl on my list as well. I am looking for to reading the author’s new one, Haters, as soon as I can find it somewhere reasonable (or at the library). Carry On is a great one too. Seems when I was looking at my list, I managed to omit some of my faves.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

