Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring TBR

This week’s TTT, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, is Spring TBRs. My TBR is in a state of constant growth; weirdly my bank balance follows entirely the opposite trajectory. I wonder if there’s a connection…

In no particular order, here are ten of the books I’m planning to read in the next couple of weeks.

queenshadowsdreamthievesversions.jpgmillreasons.jpg


Queen of Shadows
by Sarah J. Maas
I’ve been working through this series since January and feel an intense urge to get caught up so the internet can stop giving away massive spoilers and ruining my life.

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
I read The Raven Boys in January and didn’t love it, but trusted sources assure me the series picks up in book 2.

The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett
I’ve been making eyes at this in Waterstones for ages so I’m looking forward to finally reading it.Β I am hoping this is going to be entertaining as well as aesthetically pleasing.

The Mill on the Floss by George Eliot
Yes, I am finally going to read this while I’m off school for Easter. I plan to read Silas Marner first to ease myself into what will hopefully be a newfound love of Eliot.

Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig
I’ve heard nothing but great things about this and I’ve read a handful of Haig’s novels, so I’m looking forward to picking this up.

armada.jpgmaranorthanger.jpgspillsimmernellydean

Armada by Ernest Cline
Ready Player One was one of my favourite reads of 2015; I bought Armada for my husband because, even as a non-booknerd, he enjoyed it too. This was a month ago and he still hasn’t read it. So I’m jumping the queue.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
I got this for Christmas and haven’t picked it up yet; I’m stuck in the middle of so many series that I don’t want to start it yet, but I’ll crack on once I’m up-to-date with the Throne of Glass series.

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
After my recent very enjoyable reread of Sense and Sensibility, I’m planning to reread all Austen’s novels, starting with this one. I wrote about it for my A-level coursework about a bazillion years ago so I’m interested to see whether my feelings about it have changed.

Spill Summer Falter Wither by Sara Baume
I have seen this summed up as “a man finds a misfit dog;” I’m actively seeking books with a simple premise at the moment, to give my brain a break from the billions of characters and magic spells of all the fantasy I’ve been reading recently. I think this will do the trick.

Nelly Dean by Alison Case
Bronte-inspired novels seem to account for roughly 47% of my reading for some reason. This retelling, focusing on awesome Nelly’s story, sounds really good.

I am extremely and ridiculously bad at sticking to any kind of organised TBR, due to my chronic inability to stop buying books, so it is entirely likely that my actual reading over the next few months will look completely different. Oh well.

 

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring TBR

  1. curlygeek04 says:

    I need to read Mill on the Floss one of these days! I started Armada but couldn’t get into it. Enjoy your Jane Austen re-reads! Emma is my favorite Jane Austen, Mansfield Park my least favorite.

    Like

Leave a Reply

