Top Ten Tuesday: Characters and Literary Figures I’d Name My Children After

TTT

This week, Top Ten Tuesday is having a “freebie” week, which means I get to pick whatever I like. By coincidence, the exact topic I have been yearning for is up in a couple of weeks anyway, so I looked through the list of past topics on The Broke and The Bookish and scrolled down until I found this gem.

Before commencing, I should issue a disclaimer of sorts: I have incredibly weird taste in names. I also already have a child, who, to prove my previous point, is named after a film about a pregnant teenager (it’s also the name of a vengeful Roman goddess, so either way, you get my point). If you read these names and think, “this woman needs to be jailed before she inflicts these monikers on innocent infants,” don’t worry: one is plenty for me!

10. Fitzwilliam (after Mr Darcy, Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice)
Most people don’t know Mr Darcy even has a first name but he does and this is it. I have always thought this was an awesome name because a child called Fitzwilliam could be Fitz for short. Then my sister pointed out at least two rude words which rhymed with it and said he’d get bullied at school. What a sad world we live in.

9. Ismene (from Sophocles’ Antigone)
If you read the disclaimer at the start, you’ll realise I have no sense of what is genuinely inappropriate in the naming of a child. Hence my belief that it would be socially acceptable to name a baby after a product of incest whose siblings all died tragically.

8. Albany (from Shakespeare’s King Lear)
Everyone in King Lear is pretty reprehensible, apart from Albany, Kent and Edgar: the last three standing at the end when everybody has died tragically. Kent almost sounds like a swear-word and he announces that he’s basically too sad about Lear dying to be any use anyway, so I’m obviously not naming non-existent kids after him. Albany, however, is a dude; having been royally cuckolded by Goneril (not an acceptable name, even to me) throughout, the play’s end sees Albany assuming the role of Total Badass, taking names and basically tidying up everyone else’s shit. He is cool.

7. Hero (from Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing)
Hero is much less fun than Beatrice, who gets all the best lines, but she has a far prettier name. And children should be given something to live up to in order to ensure they don’t waste their lives.

6. Tennessee (after Tennessee Williams)
Before my daughter was named after the pregnant teenager, she was going to be called Tennessee. Mainly after the state, but also because I love Tennessee Williams and had managed to conceal from my husband what an inappropriate person he would be to name a child after. Sadly, someone decided Tennessee was too hard for a child to spell (I think that someone actually thought it would be too hard for him to spell) and that’s how she ended up with a name that nobody thinks is even a word.

5. Sylvia (after Sylvia Plath)
Yes, I clearly think it is a good plan to name children after writers with psychological problems who killed themselves. Sylvia was vetoed from the middle name suggestion list for my daughter by that fascist I’m married to. Apparently the pregnant teenager thing is fine, but calling her after someone who bites people’s faces at first meetings is too much.

4. Quincey (after Quincey Morris in Bram Stoker’s Dracula)
Quincey is my favourite of the Vampire Death Squad in Dracula. He’s from Texas so he’s super-chill, probably lives on a ranch and is the best one. My Head of Faculty has a cat called Quincey so it would be kind of weird to call a child this, but it is an equally good name for a feline, I suppose.

3. Enjolras (after the character from Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables)
I love Enjolras. All his revolutionary angst gives me feelings I’d prefer not to discuss publicly. He’s also awesome in the musical and I would quite happily die in the French Revolution if he asked me to. Imagine being a baby called Enjolras! I am pretty sure that kid would thank me as soon asย he was old enough to speak.

2. Mina (after Mina Harker in Stoker’s Dracula)
Yes, more Dracula, and another name I genuinely would call a human. I am not making any more humans though, so we are getting a kitten and calling her Mina. Mina the kitten, despite probably not actually having been born yet, has been a fixture in this house for some time. The child likes to pretend to be Mina, I think in order to test out my responses to various potential cat-situations. It is intense.

  1. Eponine (after the character from Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables)
    Look, I’m just REALLY into Les Miserables, okay? And Eponine is the best character in the whole damn thing. She’s a sneaky thief, and who doesn’t love one of them? Her parents are horrendous, so it’s really easy to sympathise with her. And she’s in love with Marius, who inexplicably doesn’t realise this and gets off with Cosette instead, which is one of the worst decisions a literary character has ever made, but does mean the song ‘On My Own’ was written, thus giving me something to wail along to when I was at uni and everybody else was out having fun or something. I would ABSOLUTELY call a child or possible subsequent cat Eponine. So don’t steal it.

Do you have wildly inappropriate ideas for the naming of hypothetical children? Please tell me in the comments so I know I’m not alone.ย If you are so inspired by my naming skills that you want to use any of these, I won’t demand visitation rights or anything. I’m chill like that.

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Characters and Literary Figures I’d Name My Children After

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    YESSS ME TOO ABSOLUTELY. XD I would name my children crazy literary names if I had children. So far I just have to name my book characters wild names, but omg there are so many awesome ones?!? Like I’m horrible, but I’d name a child Lemony after Lemony Snicket. I think it’s an aWESOME name. And I really like the names Ismene and Hero now. Seriously, you clearly need 10 more children. *nods*
    Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Holly says:

    Aww, I love Fitzwilliam! The possibilities for nicknames are endless: Fitz, William, Will, Bill, the list goes on and on! If I ever get a cat, this name is definitely going on the list of possible names ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Katy Goodwin-Bates says:

      Exactly! Fitz is a great name. Sadly, the rhyming words my sister pointed out to me when I said this to her were a little more…biological, shall we say? She has a far more vulgar imagination than me, clearly.

      Like

  3. SciFi and Scary says:

    The daughter I lost had an usual name for a little girl. I got it from the “an’ I will love it, and hug it, and call it – ” saying. ‘Course, now the name is EVERYWHERE so its painful to see but… nonetheless, she had a cool name.

    Like

  4. Lucie @ Tea Books and Fun says:

    You know, I read the topic and I was like: “oh that’s fun I’ll be able to say my #1 choice is Eponine from Les Misรฉrables”. And then I got to your number one and WE HAVE THE SAME OMG IT’S THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENS I’M FANGIRLING SO HAAAAAAAARD. OMG I love you because of this, hahaha. The world is little sometimes :’) But I totally feel you with the need to name your children after fictional character. When I was little, I named all my dolls Emma after Emma Watson because it seems more normal than Hermione. I’d love to name my kid like that buuuut she’ll be in trouble. But Eponine is happening, I don’t care, my future husband won’t have a choice! I don’t know if what I’m saying is coherent but I’m so happy that you love Eponine too! Moreover, I’m French, so I have to name my future daughter like that ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    • Katy Goodwin-Bates says:

      This is AMAZING. Clearly we are soulmates. I think when we get Mina the cat she might need a companion called Eponine. I told my husband this and he said “but what if I want to name the cats?” and I just laughed at him. Hurray for Eponine!

      Like

  5. Bookenstein says:

    I love absolutely everything about this list! I saw Fitzwilliam and nearly started slow clapping it up on my break. I have been dabbling with literally names for hypothetical children for a while now, and I’m so tempted to name a future son Edgar, Neil, or Stephen after a few of my favorite authors. I already know I could get away with it. Also, anything dealing with Greek mythology is fair game.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Tasia @ Lalipop Blog says:

    This is such a fun topic! I love literary names for babies…I always wanted to name a future son of mine Holden (after the one and only Holden Caulfield, of course). My daughter is named after Lily Potter…except her name is in Hawaiian.

    Like

  7. Alyce @ Everything Alyce says:

    Okay this is such a brilliant topic! Definitely might need to steal this one for a TTT freebie in the future ๐Ÿ˜›
    I always wanted to have a daughter and call her Alaska, from John Green’s ‘Looking For Alaska’, but in the book she chooses her own name so I think giving the child freedom might be a better choice!

    Like

  8. Elizabeth H says:

    I love this topic! I probably spend more time than I should picking out baby names and trying to figure out how I can name my (future) kids after book characters! Right now I just have to settle with giving my cats all Harry Potter names!

    Like

Leave a Reply

