Top Ten Tuesday: All I Want for Christmas is All These Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This is my second time playing along and it is extremely fun.

All I ever want for Christmas is books. Everybody finds this weird but I don’t care. I don’t have any more space for books in my house but I don’t care. I will just move.

10 Rules for Werewolves by Kirk Lynn
werewolvesIt would be pretty amazing if this is under the Christmas tree as I haven’t actually asked anyone for it. But I read this review at Fourth and Sycamore and now I want it.

9 Beautiful You by Chuck Palahniukbeautiful-you-cover-official
I love Chuck Palahniuk. His books are all so weird and gross and horrifying and nobody writes like him. I didn’t, however, love Damned, so I hope Beautiful You will restore my faith in his sick, twisted imagination.

porter.jpg8 Girl in a Band by Kim Gordon
I will never get bored of reading about people in bands. I will, however, feel a great sense of injustice that I am not one of them. I heard Kim Porter talking about her memoir on the radio a few months ago and it made me want it very badly.

7 The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkinmara.jpg
I am intrigued by this trilogy; I know the basic premise but have tried to avoid finding out too much so I can’t over-analyse before I’ve even stroked the covers.

parker.jpgCollected Poems by Dorothy Parker
I have decided that I love Dorothy Parker and would invite her to my fantasy dinner party. Imagine the trouble she would cause, being snarky to everyone and probably stealing their drinks! It would be amazing.

5 The 2015 Booker shortlist
This is cheating because there are 6 of these, but I emotionally blackmailed my husband into buying me the set and, as he hates wrapping and will do them all as one present, I am counting them as one. So I can read them all and join the Booker debate about a year after it was decided. Yay!

broken.jpg4 These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
The covers of the books in this series are so beautiful and, now that I have got over all my series-fatigue issues, I am keen to add them to my TBR pile (even though it is quite likely to topple over and kill me in my sleep quite soon). And Amie Kaufman co-wrote Illuminae, which was my favourite book of 2015, so I don’t see any way that this isn’t a great pick.

3 Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl by Carrie Brownsteinhunger.jpg
If this book is half as good as Sleater-Kinney’s latest album, I will be excited. That record is SO GOOD; it has a really ameliorating effect on my driving-to-work mood. I love a rock memoir so I’m really looking forward to devouring this one.

atwood2 The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood
Maggie A is my hero and I love all of her dystopian novels so I am excited about reading this. The Handmaid’s Tale has been turning me into a gibbering wreck/feminist outlaw for nearly 15 years now and I have a very strong affection for the Maddaddam trilogy too, so I have high hopes.

1 The First Collection of Rock Criticism by a Living Female Rock Critic by Jessica hopperHopper
I read a review of this on Fourth and Sycamore and have been obsessed with reading it since then. I love music writing and still firmly believe that there is a parallel universe in which I am writing for Rolling Stone and holding seances where Lester Bangs guides me through life. I stalk Jessica Hopper on Twitter and I love her too. So this will obviously change my life.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: All I Want for Christmas is All These Books

  1. Holly says:

    These Broken Stars is sooo good. I haven’t read any of the other books in the series, but they’re definitely on my TBR list. There’s just something about books set in outer space that I can’t get enough of! Happy reading! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

